The Board of Directors of the South Tahoe Public Utility District is committed to providing excellence in legislative leadership that result in the provision of the highest quality of services to its constituents. It is the duty of the Board of Directors to establish procedure, goals, and formulate and adopt policy. The Board directs the General Manager to implement the policies. Directors do not represent any fractional segment of the community, but are, rather, a part of the body which represents and acts for the community as a whole.


The South Tahoe Public Utility District Board of Directors regularly meets the first and third Thursday of each month, at 2:00 p.m . Meetings are held at the District office, located at 1275 Meadow Crest Drive, South Lake Tahoe, CA. Public participation is encouraged. The Agenda is accessible to the public at least 72 hours prior to the Regular Board meeting and is posted on the outdoor reader board. A complete agenda packet, including all backup information is available for review by clicking on the link below for Regular Board Meeting Agendas, and also in the lobby at the District office during the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

2021 Board Calendar

Click here to view the Board Agendas and Minutes.


The District is governed by a five member Board, elected by popular vote of the general public who reside within the District boundaries. Anyone interested in running for a seat on the Board must be a registered voter within the District. Board Members receive District medical, dental and vision benefits and in accordance with Section 16002 of the Public Utility Code, also receive a $400 per month stipend. Board Meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month at 2:00 p.m. in the District Board Room located at 1275 Meadow Crest Drive, South Lake Tahoe.

The next election will be held on November 3, 2020. Seats #2, #3 and #4 are up for election. The filing period begins July 13, 2020 and ends on August 7, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. If the incumbent fails to file for their term by the last day of the filing period, the time will be extended for five (5) days (until August 12, 2020). Please be advised that this extension DOES NOT APPLY if there is no eligible incumbent to be elected. Note: the incumbent may not file after August 12, 2020. Declaration of Candidacy papers for all districts is available at the Elections Department in Placerville. Districts in South Lake Tahoe, may also file with the Recorder-Clerk’s office located at 3368 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, Suite 108, in South Lake Tahoe. Please note: the Recorder-Clerk’s office in Tahoe is opened Monday through Friday, however they are closed daily from 12:00 noon to 1:00 p.m. for lunch.

Pursuant to Election Code Section 13307 (a) (1) Each candidate for nonpartisan elective office in any local agency, include any city, county, city and county, or district, may prepare a candidate’s statement on an appropriate form provided by the elections official. The statement may include the name, age and occupation of the candidate and a brief description, of no more than 200 words, of the candidate’s education and qualifications expressed by the candidate him/herself. The statement shall not include the party affiliation of the candidate, nor membership or activity in partisan political organizations.

In Person Voting South Lake Tahoe:

  • California Conservation Corps 1949 Apache Ln 8:30AM-4:30PM
  • Lake Tahoe Community College One College Drive 8:30AM-4:30PM
    • Facilities will require face covering

Drop Box Locations South Lake Tahoe:

  • South Lake Tahoe Library 1000 Rufus Allen Blvd 24 Hour Drive Up
  • Holiday Market South Lake Tahoe 2977 US Hwy 50 7:00AM-9:00PM
  • Grocery Outlet South Lake Tahoe 2358 Lake Tahoe Blvd 7:00AM-10:00PM

For additional information, comments or concerns please contact:

Melonie Guttry (mail: Executive Services Manager/Clerk of the Board


Board of Directors

Image of Chris Cefalu, Board Member

Chris Cefalu, Director, Seat 1 - Term: 12/07/2018 – 12/02/2022

Chris Cefalu holds a B.S. in Managerial Economics from the University of California at Davis. Chris is a 52-year resident of South Lake Tahoe and is the owner/operator of several successful small businesses in South Lake Tahoe.

Standing Committee:

  • Finance
romsos headshot

Shane Romsos, Director Seat 2 - Term: 12/04/2020 to 12/02/2022

Shane Romsos is an environmental research scientist for a natural resource research firm, Spatial Informatics Group, and has a background in wildlife ecology, water quality, forestry, wildfire science and natural resource management and planning. Shane holds a Master of Science degree in Natural Resources Management and a Bachelor of Science degree in Wildlife Biology from Humboldt State University.


David Peterson, Director, Seat 3 - Term: 12/04/2020 – 12/06/2024

Dave Peterson is a licensed Civil Engineer specializing in water resources, with 37 years in private practice. He co-founded a new water resources engineering firm in Folsom in 2005, and in 2020, he sold his interest in the firm, but continues in a part-time emeritus role. He has previously served on the Boards of San Juan Water District, Association of California Water Agencies, Water for the West Foundation, and the National Water Resources Association. Dave grew up in South Lake Tahoe in the 1960s and 70s. His father started Alpine Animal Hospital on Highway 89 in 1965. They lived in the Tahoe Keys, and he raced for the Heavenly Valley Blue Angels. He left Tahoe in the mid-1970s for education and career. He and his wife of 39 years have now returned for an active and fulfilling retirement in Tahoe.

Kelly Sheehan, Vice President, Seat 4 - Term: 12/02/2016 – 12/04/2020

Kelly Sheehan is a 30 year resident of South Lake Tahoe where she and her husband co-own and operate Steamers Bar & Grill. Kelly is a former branch manager for El Dorado Savings and has experience in planning and cost control.

Standing Committee:

  • Finance
  • Executive Committee

Nick Exline, Seat 5 - Term: 12/07/2018 - 12/02/2022

Nick Exline received his master’s degree in Land Use Planning Policy from the University of Nevada and is currently a Senior, AICP Land Use Planner for Midkiff and Associates.  Nick is the Chairman of the South Tahoe 100% Renewable Committee, founder of the Lake Tahoe Climate Change Network, Chair of the Tahoe Chamber Government Affairs Committee, and member of the LTUSD Renewable Energy/Sustainability and green space committees.   Nick lives in Tahoe with his wife Kelly and children Callum and Mia.

Standing Committee:

  • Water and Wastewater Operations


General Manager
John Thiel


Assistant General Manager
Shannon Cotulla

Chief Financial Officer
Paul Hughes